Unfinished Precious??

Discussion for Depeche Mode, and Depeche Mode related topics.

Unfinished Precious??

Postby CrazyModester79 » Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:04 pm

I think most of us have heard "precious" now, and what a fantastic return to form from the boys. but what puzzles me is (i have no knowledge of how music is made by the way) people keep saying that its unfinished? in what way? because it sounds perfect to me! does anybody have any idea what would possibly change on it? thanx guys.
CrazyModester79

Postby Oberkorn » Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:33 pm

listen to sweetest perfection (violator) in headphones...

most 'finished' dm songs are heavily layered and complex.

Precious is a rough mix...which means all the parts are there (sometimes), but the embellishments (effects and mix placement) aren't finely tuned.

It requires a different mindset to mix and master a song for final output...not only is it technically getting a song to sound it's best and finding a home for each individual sound, it's finding the heart of the song, and doing what you can to accentuate and develop it to reveal it's essence.

It's not too unlike photography where 50% is the picture you take, and 50% what you develop into the final print.

Often times it takes a two completely different mind sets to write / record the song, and 'develop' it in the mix. This is why the mixer they choose and producer they work with is a thoughtful decision and in some ways an equal contributer to the band for the final output.

What they often do is throw together a rough mix and circulate it with the crew, sit with it, take some time away and come back to it later. This will help them figure out what they like and don't like and put it into the final master.

If that's indeed what this is for Precious, we owe a thanks to DM for making us a part of that evaluation / reaction process.

We'll see, but for all we know it's done and pressed by now and they're just looking for initial reactions.